The Shattered Image

The Shattered Image

lørdag den 18. oktober 2014

The shattered image - Ch 8: Daisukes story

DAISUKES STORY

She silently sat on the floor, pulling out hair from her head. My mother. She was an alcoholic psychotic woman. "Do you see this David?". David is my actual name. I was born in America by my half Japanese mother and a father I never knew.
"Do you see this?"
She pulled out another lock of hair.
"I see it." What am I suppose to answer? She scared me.
"Do you see this David..... This... flower" She smiled creepily and began to laugh. She was in her worse state right now. My experience told me to run. "Im gonna pick up some few things mom" I ran out the front door. It was cold and dark, snow started to fall down. "It's winter" i slowy said to myself. A 7 year old, alone, on the street, and the only person he could rely on was his psychotic mother... That was my reality.
Mom starting getting sick when I was 5 years old. She started showing signs of split personality and paranoia. She saw things there wasn't there, she heard things, and believed in unreal things. "They are out to get me!" she usually screamed. Mother went to a doctor. He prescribed her expensive medicine she couldn't afford. Mother couldn't get a job because of her sickness, we lived off of unemployment benefits, but it wasn't enough, so she started selling herself. It made her miserable and she began to drink... In just two years she turned out like that.

It was cold. The snow began to stay, a white layer of snow covered the ground. Couples walked around hand in hand. Business men were fetching a couple of things in the convenience store before heading home. I stayed inside the store, just to get some heat. 
"You! if you're not getting anything, get out!"
I wandered back to our apartment. It was locked. Figures. "Mom?" She didn't answered. "Mommy?" No answer. I panicked. What do I do? "MOMMY!" I screamed with all my might. "Haaaaaa-haaaaaaaa" She opened up the door, drunk as f*ck, "Did i triaaaaack yourrh..??" (did I trick you) Completely wasted. Tears started to drip down my face.
"Awww. Did i scuare you thuat muachhhhh........????" (Did I scare you that much?)

My mother was mentally unstable. She continued to become worse. At a age of 10 she gradually lost herself completely to her sickness. She was no longer the mom I knew. She did drugs, she hit me continuously, and blamed me. "If only you hadn't been born! If only!" She would scream on a daily basis. I would escape, sometimes not come home.

When I was 12, my mom was so unstable she wasn't even able to sell herself anymore. The money ran out, and she couldn't afford her drugs. She took what little money we had left, sold everything, and bought two plane ticked back to japan, where she delivered me to an orphanage and wandered off. 

I started doing drugs and became a delinquent. When I was 13, a man stopped me from hitting someone. He took me home, cleaned me up and started to care for me as if I was his own son.
I live with him till this day. He did so much for me, Im forever in his debt. 

The shattered image - ch 7: An unexpected turn

(IM SO SORRY FOR THE LACK ON UPDATES! I've been seriously busy with college :s)

It was hard focusing in the fifth period... lunch with classmate..  I did it, didn't I? I talked to classma.. ouch!  Oh no.. no.. not now... migraine...
Its blackening...

Next thing I know is that Im in the in the infirmary. What happened?
"Tsukino-chan? How are you?" The nurse were standing next to my bed.
"Wh-what happened?"
"You fell down from your seat and your classmate carried you here"
A classmate?
"Oh..." I didnt know what to say.
"Did you eat lunch?'
"Yes"
"Did you sleep enough last night?"
"Yes.. ?" Why all the questions?
"Ehm, yeah. I did..."
"I wonder why you fainted then...."
Oh no.. I didn't consider if she knows my condition and obligated to contact the hospital if I'm falling ill... Quickly.. something..
"...I should probably contact your parents"
",,,Not that!" Crap.. I yelled it out loud...
"...I-I mean... That.. I don't want to worry them.. I think.. It's probably nothing! Like.. Im just stressing out starting at school and ever-.."
"That wouldn't cause you to faint, not when it's only been two days" She cut me off.. annoying.
"I've been nervous for weeks you know..."
"I'm still not sure on your condition and your mental health. I would rather that we contacted the hospital"
Why?... I don't want that. "That's unnecessary"
"it's not. Listen Tsukino-chan, it's my responsibility to...HEY" 
I jumped out and ran off.. seriously.. why Haruka? are you an idiot? You just made it worse..

I hided between some bushes underneath a window. I will sneak back for six period. I refuse to go to the hospital and stay there for days. I hate being there - they always complicate my head even further.
"The nurse is looking for you, you know"
The foreginer was looking at me from above. His head was out the window. What was he doing? It was in the middle of a period..
"Yeah. I don't feel like talking to her"
"I see..."
I realized that I don't know his name...
"So.. What's your name?" Could I sound more lame...
"pffft... HAHAHA! Seriously? Don't you listen when the names are called?"
Not really.. Im busy sweating over how loud I should say my name...
"well.."
"Oh well... Im Daisuke spelled big and help" (大輔) Ironic... (大輔=Great helper)
"Just Daisuke?"
"Well. It's your punishment for not knowing my name"
This guy.... Im forced to call him by first name... how embarrasing..
"...And you're Haruka?"
Frist name base!? Can he be more bold!?
"TSUKINO Haruka.. Yes"
"Hehe. Sorry... Im not used to call people by their last names.."
I wonder if he grew up else where?
"How come?"
"Oh... that's a long story"
"I don't mind. Six period is in a half hour.. I have time to waste" I was actually curios.
"You know the nurse is still looking for you"
"Never mind her..." I couldn't care less..
"Im looking stupid talking to myself here in the window opening" What was with all the excuses?
"Then come!" I dragged him out of the window and all the way to the small school park.
"Im all ears" I said to him
"Pfft..." He giggled at me..
"What!?"
"you're like a kid on christmas eve!" tsh.. Calling me a kid..
"Im just kinda curios.." I admitted..
"So you DO find me interesting"  THIS GUY!
"Does not!"
"Hahaha!" He laughed at me again.
"...Come one.." It was as if he didn't want to talk about it.. Well, he was the one to bring it up!

He looked at me with rather sorrowfull eyes and I realized I might have had pushed him into a corner... Forced him to relive a painfull past.
"...Here goes" he said quietly.